Medal of Honor

The Medal of Honor is the United States of America’s highest military honor, awarded for personal acts of valor above and beyond the call of duty. The medal is awarded by the President of the United States in the name of the U.S. Congress to U.S. military personnel only. There are three versions of the medal, one for the Army, one for the Navy, and one for the Air Force. Personnel of the Marine Corps and Coast Guard receive the Navy version.

According to the Medal of Honor Historical Society of the United States, there have been 3,513 Medals of Honor awarded to the nation’s soldiers, sailors, airmen, Marines, and Coast Guardsmen since the decoration’s creation, with just less than half of them awarded for actions during the four years of the American Civil War.

The following military service members from the State of Indiana have been awarded the Medal of Honor. As such, these individuals are members of the Indiana Military Veterans Hall of Fame.

Civil War
Marion T. Anderson
James W. Archer
Clinton Lycurgus Armstrong
George Lovell Banks
Thomas A. Blasdale
Thomas J. Box
Charles W. Brouse
Louis J. Bruner
Abram J. Buckles
William Campbell
Orville Tyron Chamberlain
William W. Chisman
John Wesley Conaway
John Davis
John Ditzenback
Allan Houston Dougall
James Dunlavy
Coron D. Evans
Charles S. Fall
Nicholas Fanning
Daniel Tweed Ferrier
Frederick W. Fout
Joseph Frantz
Thomas N. Graham
Henry M. Hardenbergh
David H. Helms
William T. Holmes
Ira Hough
Aaron R. Hudson
Louis T. Hunt
Samuel Hymer
Ruel M. Johnson
Absalom Jordan
Andrew John Kelley
William Wesley Kendall
Jeremiah Kuder
Henry Ware Lawton
Elihu Mason
Richard H. Morgan
John N. Opell
Jacob H. Overturf
Joseph Rollin Prentice
Oliver P. Rood
Milton F. Russell
Peter J. Ryan
Charles H. Seston
William Shepherd
Reuben Smalley
William Steinmetz
John T. Sterling
Frank Stoltz
Richard Taylor
William P. Thompson
Andrew Tibbets
John Milton Whitehead
Perry Wilkes
Samuel Wright

Indian Campaigns
Lorenzo Dow Brown
Harry Garland
George Grant
Francis C. Green
David Goodman
David W. Harris
Elisha Simpson Hornaday
Jeptha L. Lytton
John Alexander Sutherland
Enoch R. Weiss
Claron Windus
John P. Yount

Spanish American War
Andrew Johnson Cummins
Thomas J. Graves
Allen Walker

Phillipine Insurrection
Hiram Iddings Bearss
George Wesley Biegler
Joseph A. Nolan
John C. Wetherby
Jay P. Williams
William F. Zion

Mexican Campaign
Allen Buchanan
Jonas Howard Ingram

World War I
Roswell Winans
Samuel Woodfill

World War II
Richard Nott Antrim
Melvin Earl Biddle
Gerry Herman Kisters
Thomas Edward McCall
William D. McGee
Harry J. Michael
Frank H. Ono
Norman Scott
David Monroe Shoup
Thomas W. Wigle

Korean War
Charles Gene Abrell
Don Carlos Faith, Jr.
William Gordon Windrich

Daniel D. Bruce
Sammy Lee Davis*
E.A. De La Garza, Jr.

Peace Time Awards
William Badders
Frank Ebenezer Hill

* Living